Is Hemp CBD Gluten-free?

Sales of gluten-free foods continue to soar as those with gluten sensitivity take every step possible to protect their health. 

If you are interested in trying hemp-based products like CBD, you may be curious to know if hemp is gluten-free. 

The short answer is YES! Hemp CBD is gluten free but there are some things you should consider before pulling out a CBD oil tincture.  

But first....

What is Gluten?

Simply, gluten is a combination of 2 proteins found primarily in wheat and related grains - like barley and rye.

Gluten is formed when two proteins called gliadin and glutenin combine in plant embryos (part of a seed or bud that contains the earliest form of a plant's roots, stems and leaves.). The combined protein helps to nourish the plants embryos.

In addition to providing nourishment to baby plant embryos, the gluten protein structure provides foods with texture properties. Think about how stretchy dough can be and how spongy certain bread are.  It's almost like...GLUE!

Why is Gluten bad?

Gluten is not inherently bad for you. In fact, it's neither detrimental or essential for your health. 

There not much scientific evidence to suggest that cutting out gluten in your diet is a healthy option for the average person. 

On the other hand, those with the chronic digestive disorder such as Celiac disease which might be the reason why gluten is often portrayed as bad for you.

What is Celiac disease? 

Celiac disease is a genetic immune disease in which people can't eat gluten because it will damage their small intestine. If you have celiac disease and eat foods with gluten, your immune system responds by damaging the small intestine. 

It’s estimated that celiac disease affects nearly 1% of the American population

How do you know if you have Celiac disease?

The best way to know if you suffer from this disease is to take a blood test which can help your doctor diagnose the disease. Your doctor may also need to examine a small piece of tissue from your small intestine. Treatment is a diet free of gluten.

However, symptoms of celiac disease often include the following:

  • Diarrhea
  • Bloating
  • Gas
  • Fatigue
  • Weight loss
  • Iron-deficiency anemia
  • Constipation 

What is CBD and does it have Gluten? 

Cannabidiol — commonly, CBD — is one of over 100 extracts (called cannabinoids) derivable from cannabis. Growing researches, so far, report arranging of therapeutic gains obtainable from the all-popular compound.

Besides its widely reported health benefits, CBD’s non-psychoactive profile further increases its overall value.

That is, since CBD won’t make one high, it has gained widespread acceptance than its THC— the dreaded, high-causing compound in cannabis.

However, does CBD have gluten? 

The good news is that CBD, which is often derived from hemp is gluten-free. The only concern is that hemp maybe grown in the same fields as grains that do contain gluten.

Hemp is often grown in rotation with other crops that contain gluten, such as wheat. Crop rotation is a practice used by farmers to return nutrients to the soil and increase soil health.

The proximity of hemp plants to other gluten-producing grains and the use of the same equipment poses an increased cross-contamination risk.

Because farmers rotate hemp with grains, they often use the same equipment to harvest, store, and transport these crops.

The proximity of hemp plants to other gluten-producing grains and the use of the same equipment poses an increased cross-contamination risk. 

If you're interested in products made from hemp, the best way to avoid gluten cross-contamination is to purchase products that are verified to be gluten-free and labeled as such. 

Another good way to find out if your hemp CBD is gluten free is to ask them directly. As long as the production and growth of the CBD product was not in a manufacturing facility that was used for gluten products, then the CBD oil is free from gluten.

Are Envy Hemp's CBD products free from Gluten?

Short answer: Yes!

Not only does Envy Hemp source American Hemp that is farmed in a gluten-free facility we also only use CBD isolate.

The traditional process to make CBD isolate begins with the hemp plant going through a CO2 extraction process, which results in a thick oily substance. This oily substance is known as full-spectrum CBD, which is an oil that contains all the cannabinoids hemp has to offer.

Following the extraction process, the full-spectrum CBD goes through a purifying process. This process, referred as winterization, removes the excess plant compounds such as gluten from the CBD oil. This final steps results in the crystalline substance containing up to 99% pure CBD. 

Is it safe to take CBD on a Gluten Free Diet?

Keep in mind there are many good reasons to include high-quality gluten-free CBD oil in your diet. Some people report that it can help them to minimize symptoms. Some products also have vitamins and minerals in them, boosting your intake in a safe way.

Where to Buy High-Quality and Gluten-free CBD?

Envy Hemp offers the highest quality CBD products that are gluten-free. 

We take the quality of our products very seriously. Try our products for a 30-day period and if you are not 100% satisfied, we want to hear from you.

Final Thoughts 

We are huge advocates of CBD isolate. Always remember to purchase from reputable companies that are transparent in their lab testing results done by a credible laboratory. 

If this is your first time trying CBD isolate, we recommend trying our Pure CBD products. You can start at a lower dosage and work your way to the perfect dose! See what can be achieved when adding CBD isolate to your everyday regimen.  

About Envy Hemp

Our Mission is to optimize health. By combining the highest quality supplements with all natural American hemp CBD, we strive to provide fast acting, functional and affordable products.

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published